November 12, 2020

Welcome to the new members of the YERUN Executive Board!

During the General Assembly held on 21-22 October, YERUN members voted on the new Executive Board. While the YERUN President, Prof. Bernd Scholz-Reiter, is still in his term and the YERUN Treasurer, Prof. Corrado Cerruti, has been re-elected for another term, three new members have been welcomed to the Board. Their entrance is particularly welcome, as they are all women. They are: Prof. Isabel Rocha, Pro-rector for Innovation and Entrepreneurship at NOVA University of Lisbon, who has been appointed by the President as YERUN’s Vice-President; Prof. Anne Sinnot, Deputy President of Dublin City University; and Hildegard Schneider, Professor of European Law at Maastricht University.

Isabel Rocha, Pro-Rector for Innovation and Entrepreneurship at NOVA University Lisbon and new YERUN Vice-President

Isabel Rocha coordinates the areas of entrepreneurship, technology and knowledge transfer, and the tourism and hospitality platform. She is Chairman of the Board of Directors of InnovPlantProtect, a Collaborative Laboratory in crop protection, and Vice President of BIOREF, a Collaborative Laboratory in Biorefineries, and is also a member of the Board of Directors of Madan Parque, NOVA’s technology-based incubator. She is Principal Investigator at ITQB NOVA, coordinating a Research Laboratory in Synthetic Biology. She obtained her PhD at Minho University in Portugal, in Chemical and Biological Engineering and did post-doctoral studies at the Technical University of Denmark. She does research in Biotechnology, covering the topics of Bioinformatics, Metabolic Engineering, Synthetic Biology and Systems Biology, and has published more than 140 complete articles in international magazines, books and conferences. She is the scientific coordinator, among others, of the Shikifactory100 Project ( and national representative on the executive board of the European Bioinformatics Infrastructure (ELIXIR). She is also an evaluator of several funding agencies, including the European Commission. During 2007, she was a visiting professor at MIT, USA, as part of the MIT-Portugal Program and, from 2007 to 2017, part of the faculty at MIT-Portugal, being responsible for an ducational program in innovation involving 4 universities and 2 programs of PhD – the i-teams program. She was President of P-Bio, Portuguese Association of Bioindustries and was one of the founders of the companies Biotempo and SilicoLife.


Corrado Cerruti, Professor of Management at the Faculty of Economics of the University of Rome Tor Vergata and YERUN Treasurer

Corrado Cerruti is Professor of Management at the Faculty of Economics of the University of Rome Tor Vergata, Director of the MSc program in Business Administration and Director of the research centre on Procurement and Supply Chain (Proxenter). He has got a degree in Economics and Business from the University of Genoa (Italy), an M.B.A. from INSEAD Fontainableau (France) and a PhD in Management from Cranfield University (UK). His major research areas are supply chain and innovation, with a particular focus on how digital technologies and management consulting are transforming the competitive landscape. He is in charge of the publications of the European Federation of Management Consulting Associations (FEACO) as well as the Italian Association of Management Consulting companies (Assoconsult). Since 2018 he has served in the YERUN Board with the role of treasurer and he has now been re-elected for a second term. As part of his activities developed together with YERUN, he is coordinating an Erasmus+ Strategic Partnership on the area of digital transformation (BUDS – Building Up Digital Strategists) and the YERUN summer school on “Management Consulting in the Digital Age”.



Professor Hildegard Schneider, Professor of European Law at Maastricht University

Hildegard Schneider studied Law, Political Sciences and Art History in Freiburg (Breisgau, Germany), London, Paris and Münster (Germany). She holds a professorship in European Law at the universities of Maastricht (The Netherlands) and Hasselt (Belgium) and a Jean Monnet Chair in European Migration Law. Between September 2011 and December 2017, she served as Dean of the Faculty of Law, Maastricht University (UM). During that period, she was a member of the management team of Maastricht University and a member of the education board of the faculty of law in Hasselt (Belgium). As Dean of the law faculty at the UM she was actively involved in the setting up of the multidisciplinary research centres: ITEM – Institute for Transnational and Euregional cross-border and cooperation Mobility, MACIMIDE – the Maastricht Centre for Citizenship, Migration and Development, CERiM Centre for European Research in Maastricht and the Maastricht Centre of Art and Culture, Conservation and Heritage (MACCH). During the last three decades, she has been working specifically in the area of European Internal Market Law and European Migration Law concentrating on the free movement of persons (including the mobility of professionals and students), the concept of European citizenship, the recognition of diplomas. She conducted various studies concerning the position of Third Country Nationals (family members of EU citizens, legal migration, high-skilled and circular migration, asylum). Furthermore, she has developed a keen research interest in the emerging area of art & law and the protection of cultural property. She has been involved very actively as project leader and participant in various EU and nationally funded research projects such as the Marie Curie Research ITN research networks TRANSMIC and NACCA, the FP 7 project EURA-NET, the NIEM project and the EU-CITZEN project. Furthermore, she has supervised successfully more than 25 PhD projects. For her research efforts, she received the research award of the Faculty of Law in 2001. Furthermore, she received the prize of the University of Maastricht for outstanding educational achievements in 1997.

Professor Anne Sinnott: DCU Deputy President

Prior to her appointment as Deputy President, Professor Anne Sinnott was Executive Dean of DCU Business School and a member of both the Senior Management Group and Executive of the University. Within the Business School she has held the roles of Deputy Dean, Director of International Development, Associate Dean for Teaching and Learning and Head of the Marketing Group. Prior to joining DCU, she worked in both market research and in education. She is an IRCA certified Internal Quality Auditor and a member of the Marketing Institute of Ireland. Since leading DCU Business School to AACSB accreditation in 2015 she has served on various peer review panels and as mentor to a number of International business schools. She is a member of the AACSB Continuous Review Committee and the European Advisory Panel. She is the Aurora Champion in DCU and sits on the University’s Women in Leadership Steering Group. Her current interests include women in leadership and business education for women in Saudi Arabia. She holds a PhD and MBA from NUI, Galway and a BA and Higher Diploma in Education from University College Dublin. Recent research projects have included the marketization of higher education and the development of a customer centric approach to policing.



We wish to these fantastic colleagues all the best in their new capacities of members of the YERUN Executive Board, sure that their vision and expertise will push our network forward.

Related News