October 17, 2023

Meet the new YERUN President: Prof. Dag Rune Olsen!

During the last YERUN General Assembly, that took place in Lisbon from 11 to 13 October, hosted by NOVA University Lisbon, a new YERUN President has been elected: Prof. Dag Rune Olsen, Rector of UiT – The Arctic University of Norway.


Dag Rune Olsen was born in Røros on 12 February 1962. He graduated with an MSc on biophysics and medical technology at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) in 1986 and he earned his Ph.D. in medical physics from the University of Oslo in 1999. He is a cancer researcher and professor of Medical Physics, specialising in cancer treatment and radiation therapy. Since 2021, he is rector of the UiT.

He was previously head of Research at the Norwegian Radium Hospital and professor of medical physics at the University of Oslo. From 2010 to 2013 he was Dean of the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences of the University of Bergen. From 2013 to 2020 he was rector of the University of Bergen.

Olsen has served as chair of Universities Norway (UHR) – the rector’s conference of Norway, and also chaired the research committee of UHR. He is chair of the board of NIFU Nordic Institute for Studies of innovation, research and education, and on the board of cultural institutions in Norway

He is recipient of many awards and recognitions. In 2008 he received the Klaas Breur Award for his research, in 2011 he was elected to Academia Europaea and in 2023 to the Norwegian Academy of Technological Sciences. In 2018 he was conferred the title of Honorary Professor by Shandong University and in 2022 he was granted the President’s Merit Award by the European Academy.


The YERUN Brussels Office would like to thank Prof. Snjezana Prijic-Samarzija, Rector of University of Riejka, for her leadership and dedication during her mandate as YERUN President and congratulate Prof. Dag Rune Olsen on his election.

We’re looking forward to starting this new chapter! 

Related News