July 20, 2018

Eva Méndez, YERUN, new chair of the OSPP

Commissioner Moedas renewed the mandate of the Open Science Policy Platform earlier this May. The OSPP advices the European Commission on the development and implementation of open science policy in Europe and promotes its adoption among stakeholders.

In this second mandate, the chair will be Dr Eva Mendez, YERUN representative in OSPP and Vice President for Open Science at UC3M. 

During the second phase, the platform will continue working with stakeholders: testing of new generation metrics linked to reward systems and skills; and engaging in the development and implementation of FAIR data standards.

We thank our colleague Eva for her active commitment to the Open Science policy agenda and for coordinating this line of action among YERUN members. 

Eva Méndez holds a PhD in Library and Information Sciences and she is an expert in metadata. She defines herself in her Twitter profile as an open knowledge militant (@evamen). She has been a lecturer at Universidad Carlos III de Madrid since 1997 and Tenured Professor since 2008. Her current position is Deputy Vice President for Research Policy. Open Science at Universidad Carlos III de Madrid. 

She has been an active member of several international research teams on various standards for the Web: She is member of the US Academy Louis Round Wilson-Knowledge Trust, the Advisory Committee of the DCMI (Dublin Core Metadata Initiative), the Advisory Board of OpenAire, as well as an active member in other initiatives such as Metadata2020 (steering committee) and RDA (Research Data Alliance). She is member of the EU-OSPP (European Open Science Policy Platform) on behalf of YERUN since May 2016, and she will be the new chair of the platform for the next period. 

Related News