May 23, 2018

Young Universities for the Future of Europe

Maastricht University forms the European University Alliance with 6 young Universities across Europe as a part of the European Universities initiative, first outlined by French President Emmanuel Macron in 2017.

The Young Universities for the Future of Europe alliance consists of seven young top-level universities from the YERUN network (Young European Research Universities Network): Maastricht University (lead), the University of Antwerp, the University of Bremen, the University of Rome Tor Vergata, the University of Eastern Finland, the University Carlos III of Madrid, and the University of Essex.

What has brought the seven young universities together is the shared aim to contribute to a more competitive, innovative and united Europe. The universities, which already have several joint activities within the YERUN framework, emphasize the need to increase employability and embedded mobility schemes for students and staff, foster inclusive higher education and invest in the active learning of European languages.

Towards a European Education Area

In doing so, the Young Universities for the Future of Europe will promote active European citizenship within a shared European environment. This will be pursued in a truly bottom-up process. In the alliance, teams of staff and students will collaborate on how to address European (and global) challenges. They will work on how to promote joint educational programs and services and develop mechanisms to facilitate the mobility of students and staff to create a joint higher education landscape without borders. As the participating universities already have a tradition of working together, the current alliance is seen as a logical step to further interaction and collaboration.

For more information please check the following links: 

Photo credit: Maastricht University

Related News